Quotes that inspired me #1

I wanted to start a series of quotes that I read and inspired or helped me in my writing. I collected quite a few of them and it would be a shame not to share them with you. Hope they will help and encourage you as they did to me. 

full_moon_____midnight_forest_by_gothrix

Reflecting Christ’s Light – By Chuck Summers and Rob Shepard

Quote ^^

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.”
Anton Chekhov

Whenever I read this, it reminds me that the reader cannot know how the moon is shinning or where it is rising or setting to, unless they are told about it. If you only tell them that it is shinning, they know nothing. You as the writer, have the obligation to show and describe them the scenario, the moon itself and the light that is coming from it. Where its reflection falls? Does it illuminate the places around? It is the only source of light or it is partially hidden by clouds?

If you want the person reading to feel a particular emotion or see what you are seeing, describe it to them. In detail. Don’t tell them the character is sad, show them, make them feel sad as well. Don’t tell them a tree is on a hill and looks amazing – describe it to them so, when they read about it, they will be amazed!

Leave a Reply

