Quotes that inspired me #2

With so many ideas coming and going in and out of my head every day, it’s hard sometimes to find the time to write them all down. And it’s even harder to find the right ones to share with friends, family or others. Because they will judge your stories no matter what, they will think of ways to fix it (what they think needs to be fixed anyway) or how they would have done it instead. And it’s scary. They don’t just look at what you wrote, but how you wrote it and at you as a person. What you think, who you are and what you believe in.

magic.jpg

Magical wallpaper by Martin Driver

And, for a long time, I was reluctant to share my stories. To anyone. Except the ones I thought people would like. The ones they would approve of. But how can you make everyone happy? What can you write to make everyone smile? It’s impossible. And you would waste your life doing something that cannot be done.

Quote ^^

“Don’t bend; don’t water it down; don’t try to make it logical; don’t edit your own soul according to the fashion. Rather, follow your most intense obsessions mercilessly.”
Franz Kafka

Took some time for me to realise that. To be confident in what I write. And to realise that if I like what I am doing, that’s enough. If I enjoy what I put down on paper, my characters and the adventures they are in, that’s all I need. And some people will like it, some will not. But is not up to me.

As Franz Kafka said, let your imagination go wild. Do not censor what you are writing to please others. Write what you feel, believe in – even if it’s not logical. It doesn’t have to be.

Leave a Reply

